The Help – Kathryn Stockett

thehelpbookcover

Every year I have to read at least a few “golden star” books for my english class. Eventually I don’t really hate these books, but it’s not like I really want to read them. Because the minut my teachers tell me I must read some “golden star” books,  I’m getting angry. I can’t stand it when someone tells me I need to do something. But anyway, this year I started to read The Help by Kathryn Stockett.

I’ve already seen the movie, but I didn’t really know what to expect from the movie. Of course I know that the book is always better than the movie, but this book’s some real literature.

Don’t blame me.

This book is about the black maids in America. This story is set in 1963/1964 (they’re talking about the murder of Kennedy). At first Aibileen and Minny are just some black housemaids and Skeeter is one of the white girls who wants to be a writer, but when she gets this crazy idea to write about, Skeeter, Aibileen and Minny are getting to work together. Eventually they even become friends.

When I started reading I was very confused. I’m not absolutely good at english, but even I knew the english in this book wasn’t good. But this didn’t bother me, because I knew it was supposed to be like this.

Eventually this turned out to be one of the things I absolutely loved about this book. There were three point of views in this book and everyone single one of them had a different writing style.

Of course I know that the subject of this book isn’t something to be laughing about. It’s a very serious subject actually, but miss Stockett doesn’t just makes you realize this, but she also manages you to laugh.

Her characters are great. I love Aibileen, Minny and Skeeter, but also Hilly is developed absolutely well. It’s great to read about their lives, the secrets they have and the love or hatred they indulge for the white people. Also it’s great to see their relationship. At first they’re just some strangers, people from two very different worlds, but eventually they learn to work together and they even become friends (no, not Hilly. Hilly’s the bitch).
One
of my favorite character’s also Celia. She really made me laugh. Besides, she’s not like these other white girls. She treads the maids like they should be treated.

 

It doesn’t happen very often, but I really felt for these characters. I was sad when they were sad and I was excited when they were. There even was a smile on my face while reading (and no, this does never happen to me!)

download

One day I want to be like Skeeter. Yes, I really think she’s become my idol. She gets the chance to write about something she believes in and also something that can change everyone. Also she’s not like anyone else. She’s had a good education, she doesn’t really want to have a boyfriend and kids… She just wants to write.

I really think that everyone needs to read this book. No it doesn’t read very fast, but this isn’t something you’ll notice. When the story is over, you’re still sad that you finished it, because you could’ve read another 500 pages. I got this book out of my school’s library, but I think I’ll buy this book very soon. Because now I’m writing this review, I want to read it again. And again. And again.

I also think it’s great that this book makes you realize that the situation in the 60’s wasn’t great. Especially not in (Jackson) Mississippi. It actually makes you wish that you were there at the moment to help these people. If only that was possible. Luckily nowadays the situation is better (I’m not saying great, because I know this isn’t).

Anyway, if you’ve seen the movie, I think you definitely need to read this book. It’s a book, there’s so much more going on in the book than they’ve let you see in the movie. And if you haven’t seen the movie, you still need to read this book (and after that you can watch the movie). I just think no one would regret reading in.

I’m just very grateful I had to read this book for my english class, because it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read in my life.

Leave a Reply

