The Grisha Trilogy – Leigh Bardugo

shadow-and-bone_hi-res-677x1024

I wanted to make three separate reviews, but after I’ve read the second book I couldn’t manage to write another review before starting the third book. I just wanted to keep going and going and going. Right now I still can’t really believe I’ve finished these three books.

To be honest, I don’t think I’ve ever read a trilogy this fast. On Sunday I’ve started the first book. That same day I also finished it and I would have read the other two books also within a day if I didn’t have to go to school. And now it’s a Friday afternoon while I’m writing this review and I’ve just finished the last book about two minutes ago.

Before I really start my review, I’ll give you a quick summary. (I’ve got it from Goodreads. Don’t blame me. Right now I wasn’t really up for making my own review):

“Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.” – Goodreads

I know, this is the summary of the first book, but obviously I can’t tell you about the second and the third book without giving you any spoilers.

I’ve been avoiding this book for a long time. A part of me really wanted to have this book on my shelf, but another part in me just didn’t really know if I had to start reading it. Everyone around you likes this book, but you’re just afraid that you won’t like it. I guess you can relate to that. At least, I hope.

Anyway, this was the reason why I hadn’t picked up this book earlier. And I just don’t know why I bought the ebook and started reading. I guess I’d just finally found the courage.

The first book was great. I mean, how else could I have finished it within a day? No, I really loved it. Most of all I loved Alina. At first she was just a girl. For me she just felt like a little girl, who needed to be taken care of. Throughout the first book she already changed a lot, but throughout book two and three, she became even better and more real.

Oh and did you know what I loved most about this book? There wasn’t a real love triangle. At least, it didn’t feel real to me. Lately I’m really getting sick of all these love triangle’s. I mean, in every book the main character doesn’t really seem to know what she (or he) wants. I mean, just look at The Hunger Games, The Selection, The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices, Twilight, Delirium… Most of the books I’ve read had a love triangle, but why? Why? Ok, there are some people who may say that these three books also have a love triangle, but in my opinion it wasn’t a real love triangle. A real love triangle for me is as the main character truly doesn’t know who she wants. At one point she’s with him and at another point she’s with someone else. In these books it wasn’t like that. And I’m really grateful for that.

Thank you so much, Leigh Bardugo!

And now we’re talking about love, it can’t harm to mention that I’ve loved the couples that were formed throughout the book. One in particular I liked very much, because I’ve been dying to get a relation like this in a fantasy book. (Nope, it’s not G’s relationship). However, the people who’ve read this book will know which couple I’m talking about.

But to be honest, I had some trouble with the reading. I’m not sure if it’s Leigh Bardugo’s writing style or just that I read it as a ebook. Sometimes I had absolutely no idea where they were and I guess I would have picked up the map of Ravka to find this out, but that was a bit hard on my ereader. So I guess I’ll have a tip for everyone: get a real copy of this book, because you might want to look on the map so now and then.
Alright, that were my troubles because I read this book as a ebook, but sometimes I didn’t really know what was going on and that had a whole different reason. When someone is new to a certain world, this world will be explained to you and that is just so much better. I never realized this until now, because it wasn’t until book book two that I found out how a kefta looked like (Leigh Bardugo probably explained this in book one, but I absolutely can’t remember…). Leigh Bardugo created a beautiful world, but sometimes I just hoped that she had visualized it a bit more for us, so we would really become part of it.

Furthermore I didn’t really have any trouble while reading this book. I absolutely loved it. The world she created was beautiful. There wasn’t a thing I didn’t like about it. It was original, dark and so real. Yes, I know that I’ve just said that she should have visualized this world more, but that doesn’t mean that it wasn’t real. No, because the characters in this book made it so real. These characters were really human, just like you and me. And it wasn’t until the last book that I realized this.

In the beginning of the book, this world doesn’t seem really dark, but after book two and three, it really does. Dark and cruel. This isn’t just a normal young adult book. I mean, not all books are talking about cutting people in half, right?

I think it’s a real shame I hadn’t picked up this book earlier. Really, I wished I had. But then this gets me thinking, if I’d picked it up earlier, would I have read it just as quick? To be honest, I don’t think so. Right now I’m really into this reading mood. I think every booklover gets this. I just want to keep reading and reading and I don’t think I’ve ever had it this strong before. But the main thing I loved about reading this book was that I’ve read it this quick. It’s why I experienced everything better, I think.

When you buy the beginning of the series, you can’t just read the second book. No, sometimes days, weeks, months or even years, pass by until you read the next one. When I read these books I hadn’t forgotten a single thing when I started the next book. So maybe this maybe means I have to read more ebooks.

Well, of course there’s also a dark side on reading so quick… Because I don’t think I know what happened in each book over a week time. I probably can’t really put them apart by then. But to be honest, I don’t really care. I love the feeling that these three books almost felt as one. And I’m really planning on doing it again. I mean, reading this quick, but then reading another serie just as quick.

Right now I’m thinking on reading A Court of Thorns and Roses, but I’m not sure yet. There are so many books I want to read… The Jewel, Glass Sword, Illuminae, Rebel of the Sands, etc… Oh, so many books… Where do I start?

Leave a Reply

