A Court Of Thorns And Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) – Sarah J. Maas

84fa9ffe-ba2c-4de8-97e3-a24d2bb71f6fimg400

In my last post I announced that I was going to read A Court of Thorns and Roses next, because apparently everyone just loves this book. So I thought, why not give it a chance? Because the last one I read, which everyone also loved, turned out to be a huge succes. Well, I can’t always be so lucky… Because I absolutely hated this book!

“When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.” – Goodreads

For me, this book just felt wrong. Maybe it was because of what I expected. Then you’ll ask me of course: what did you expect? Well, I expected a great fantasy novel with great romance, adventure and characters. But what did I get? I got the young adult version of Fifty Shades of Grey. Oh my god, people… Why did everyone love this book so much?

Okay, I’m going to be very honest with you. Maas created a great world, so it’s a shame the story turned out to be so bad…

The romance? Yes, it was good. There’s absolutely no need to deny this, because it just was. Even though it was a bit too much sometimes.

Adventure? Oh my… nothing happened! She was at this house and what did she do? Nothing… Really, Sarah J. Maas could have done so much more… She could have kept the romance, but she could have given us some more adventure, so more people (like me), would have liked this book. Because the lack of adventure and action, this book felt so wrong. I started reading this book and I had absolutely no idea where the story was going. Eventually there was this twist in the middle of the book and because of this twist I had this idea that there were to different stories. To avoid this, she could have done two things in my opinion. One: she could have made two books of A Court of Thorns and Roses. And two: she could have put more adventure/action in the first part of the book. If she’d done this, the gap between these two parts didn’t feel so big.

Characters? I guess they’re okay. Feyre was great, I hated Tamlin and I loved Rhysand… I think more people will share my opinion with this I think… haha. Oh and by the way, I didn’t like Tamlin… At first I thought like, yeah, you’re okay, but the more I read about this book, the less I started to like him. In the beginning I also didn’t really like Rhysand. He was so annoying, but this feeling lasted until the end. Okay, first I started to hate him even more, but eventually I started like him. I really started to like him.

I kind of hate that I hate this book, because I absolutely love the Throne of Glass series by Maas. Okay, I’ve only read the first two books, because I don’t have enough money to buy the other books yet, but thus far, I’ve loved these books. These books contain so much action and she can describe this so great, so maybe that’s the reason why I expected more of this book.

The one thing I did like about this book, were the great descriptions Maas made. (Even though she didn’t always have to describe so precisely during these intimate scenes). Even though I sometimes just want to read so fast and then I skip things… In the end it’s all my own fault when I don’t know sometimes. Well, I thought…

It wasn’t until I read the review of someone else that I figured out that this story was based on Beauty and the Beast. I’m not sure if I was just so stupid not to see it or that it was Maas’ fault… I don’t know and that’s why I really want to know what you guys thought of this.

And even though I just told everyone that I hated this book, I did start the second book immediately. I know, strange right? I guess I started the second book, because everyone said this book was way better. Of course I’m all about second chances (and maybe I’m also just can’t stand it if I’ve only read the first book of a series… I don’t know, I just can’t…). Anyway, I’ve already read about 30% of this book and I think they’re right, but I’m not going to tell you why it’s already better, because that will be in my next review.

I really hope some of you guys can understand my opinion and maybe you don’t, but I can live with that as long as you can also live with my opinion 😉

 

Leave a Reply

