Stardust (2007) review

MV5BMjkyMTE1OTYwNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDIxODYzMw@@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_.jpg

“In a countryside town bordering on a magical land, a young man makes a promise to his beloved that he’ll retrieve a fallen star by venturing into the magical realm.” – IMDB

 

When I watch a fantasy movie, I want a good fantasy movie. I want a fantasy movie with a great plot – where everything seems to fit – and amazing characters. When I hear someone say fantasy, I immediately think at Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter. And even though this movie is nothing like these great fantasy movies, I still loved it.

And that might be crazy, because… let’s face it, the plot wasn’t really good. Sometimes things stayed unanswered for us, like: how do you suddenly get there? Why don’t you notice it’s him? Or the classic one: why don’t you run? Most of the time this really bothers me, but this time it didn’t.

Stardust had something other great fantasy movies like Lord of the Rings didn’t have and that was some great humor. Men, I loved this humor. Sometimes it was a bit crazy, but why does that matter? I don’t think you need to take this movie very seriously. Because if you do, you certainly won’t like it. Besides, this movie is probably for children, so it must be fun to watch for them too.

For me, it was the second time I watched this movie. I barely remembered anything from the last time I watched it. Okay, there were exactly two things I remembered… One: I know I started watching this movie because of Ben Barnes (Prince Caspian of Narnia) and his role turned out to be ridiculously small. Yes, believe it or not, but when I was younger I had a huge crush on him. I could watch Narnia again and again and at the end, I would cry every time because Susan and Caspian couldn’t be together (at the same time I dreamt that I could go to Narnia and live with prince Caspian). I don’t think that wound ever healed… Oh and two: there was this scene in the movie where someone puts a sword against someone else’s neck. During this scenes, the angles switch. And at one point the sword was under his ear and in the other shot the sword was above his ear. I really couldn’t stand this scene…  This was probably also the reason why I never watched this movie again. How stupid, right? But eventually after watching the movie for a second time today, it turned out not to be this big of a deal (or maybe it was, but we were talking when that scene came, so I’m not sure whenever I properly watched it).

A fantasy movie needs great characters and this movie certainly did have them. Okay, I didn’t particularly like Tristan, because he was just annoying. I really wanted to punch him in the face each time he talked about his beloved Victoria. I especially liked the minor characters, because the main characters didn’t always make very much sense to me. A minor character I really liked was Captain Shakespeare or Robert De Niro. I won’t spoil anything, but his character was amazing. Of course Robert De Niro is also a great character and that’s why it was so fun to see him play this role. Okay, I’ll tell you this… We all expect a pirate to be brutal or… Well, I think I can say that they have a certain reputation and Captain Shakespeare tried his best to live up to this, but when nobody was around he could finally be himself… Haha, I’m not sure if this makes any scenes. But who cares? In my country it’s already time to sleep and I’m really tired, so it’s probably my own fault if this doesn’t make any sense…

Anyway, I just found out that this story was originally a book, written by Neil Gaiman. So I just got this idea, maybe I need to read this book and then I’ll compare it to the movie… (even though we all know the outcome: the book is always better) But maybe this isn’t such a bad idea. I’ll think about it.

But I need to stay awake for a little longer, so back to the movie. I know my mother wants to watch this movie too and before I watched this movie for the second time, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to show the rest of my family this movie, because it wasn’t a typical fantasy movie and it might not live up to their expectations. Okay, the fantasy was great, but I didn’t particularly like the way they put this on screen. But after seeing Stardust for a second time, I really changed my opinion. I just think everyone needs to realize that this isn’t a movie like Lord of the Rings. No, this is just a great fantasy movie with amazing humor. Oh yes, you’ll certainly like the humor.

In the end this turned out to be a review where I complain how tired I actually am. So don’t blame me please if this turned out to be a terrible review. I just wanted to write it before I went to bed. And believe me, I’ll really go to bed now. So sleep well everyone (or if you live somewhere at the other side of the earth: have a great day!) and I’ll see you again in my next (more serious) review.

3 thoughts on “Stardust (2007) review

  1. Great review. Stardust is one of my favourites as well.
    I found something to take delight in, with every character in the movie.. From De Niro’s over the top flowery captain to Dane’s sweet hearted/romantic star. I could easily mention something for every character. I think I’m going to have to re-watch and review it myself. Thanks for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

