La La Land (2016) review

MV5BMzUzNDM2NzM2MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTM3NTg4OTE@._V1_SY1000_SX675_AL_.jpg

“Mia, an aspiring actress, serves lattes to movie stars in between auditions and Sebastian, a jazz musician, scrapes by playing cocktail party gigs in dingy bars, but as success mounts they are faced with decisions that begin to fray the fragile fabric of their love affair, and the dreams they worked so hard to maintain in each other threaten to rip them apart.” – IMDB

 

First La La Land gets 14 oscar nominations and then they won big with 6 oscars. As a huge fan of Emma Stone I’m so happy that she won that oscar. No one deserved it more than she did. Some people love the oscars and some don’t (I’m somewhere in between), but when a movie gets an oscar, it’s most of the time (yes, most of the time!) indeed a good movie. But then there’s of course this question: does La La Land deserve these oscars?

First of all, I think it is a good movie, but I understand that they didn’t get the oscar for Best Picture. I mean, it was good, but not that good. I really enjoyed watching this movie and I’ll certainly watch it again any time soon.

The main thing I loved about this movie, was the setting, because (this might be really stupid) I didn’t expect this movie to be in – well, let’s say – 2016. It wasn’t until I saw an iPhone that I realized this. And of course I knew that they wanted to trick you. Why else would they wear vintage clothes or would Ryan Gosling drive an old car? Besides, they also tried to make this movie seem old, because of the first few scenes. The typography was different, but the screen was also more squared at the beginning. It was like we were watching an old movie.

The first few scenes of La La Land really set the mood. They had this great dancing and singing scene. Maybe it didn’t have much to do with the movie, but it was fun to watch and it kind of made me feel happy and let me dream.

The man characters had a dream. They’re really passionate about the things they love and no matter what, they want to achieve it. I think that’s just beautiful. Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone performed these rolls amazing.

You know, I just love these two together, especially in Crazy, Stupid, Love. I can watch that movie again and again just because of Ryan and Emma. I really hope to see them in more movies together.

Most of us have seen Easy A, so we all know that Emma is a good singer. So it didn’t really surprise me that she was cast. A thing that did surprise me, was the casting of Ryan Gosling. Did any of you know he could sing? And dance? And do you know what’s even more awesome? He’s really good at them.

And then there was this tune in the movie which came back again and again. I don’t know, I just loved that idea, because that made the whole movie connect. Besides, this tune suits the movie perfect, because the song is about dreaming and so is the movie. I’m not surprised they got an oscar for this.

Seriously, it gets me all excited to talk about those things. Especially when Ryan and Emma are just my two favorite actors. And that this movie turned out to be such a succes, is a dream coming true. I really loved this movie, I really did, but don’t expect too much. With everyone getting all excited about this movie and even with the oscars, some might get real high expectations. It’s just a fun movie and the idea behind this movie is just great.

At the beginning of my review I asked the question: does La La Land deserve these oscars? And my answer is yes. La La Land isn’t a typical Hollywood movie and that’s why it’s so good actually. Of course there’re movies who aren’t typical Hollywood movies either, but they’re not always good. La La Land is good. It’s fun to watch and it really makes you dream.

Of course I would recommend everyone this movie. But when you watch it, try to watch it without any expectations. I think one would love it most then. But this is of course my opinion and I’m very excited to hear other opinions, so please share them with me. 🙂

 

One thought on “La La Land (2016) review

  1. I enjoyed the film and your review, I thought La La Land a rare feat in filmdom, where something deep is also widely accessible, and without bloodshed

    Like

Leave a Reply

