Hairspray (2007) review

mv5bmtiymtmznziynv5bml5banbnxkftztcwmjm1ndk0mq-_v1_uy268_cr00182268_al_“Pleasantly plump teenager Tracy Turnblad teaches 1962 Baltimore a thing or two about integration after landing a spot on a local TV dance show.” – IMDB

For months, maybe years, my friends have been trying to show me this movie. Normally I never watch these kind of movies with my family and apparently this shocked them. It was just unacceptable that I hadn’t seen this movie yet.

So after a rather hard day I finally said yes, when they asked me again if I wanted to watch Hairspray. I was like: let’s just get this over with. The thing was, I had no idea what to expect and believe it or not, but this movie really surprised me (in a good way of course).

But I watched this movie with friends, so you know how it is. You can’t watch a film without talking. And because this movie contained a lot of famous actors, the talking from my side mainly was: “oh hey, he’s in this movie!”, “really, she too?”, and “who is that?!”. And because it was a musical film, my friends also sang a lot in the beginning (near the end they started to get tired, so they were more quiet. Just the fact that I was already with my friends, made my day a little more happier.

Before I’d watched Hairspray I knew that John Travolta played a woman, so I expected this to be some sort of overrated comedy movie with terrible humor. But the moment John Travolta appeared on screen, I was in love his character. He played the mother of Tracy so amazing! But the moment when you realize she’s in real person a man, it can be a bit… weird… I think that’s the right word. There’s on particular scene in this movie, where the mother and the father are dancing and singing together about their love. It’s just weird to realize the mother is a man dressed like a woman, like she’s kind of fooling him. I don’t know, it’s just very weird, but also very funny at the same time.

And now I’m talking about John Travolta, I also can’t just not mention… Zac Efron! I absolutely didn’t know he would be in this movie! My mouth dropped the minute he appeared on screen (singing and dancing!). My friend’s sister watched the movie with us and she kept laughing at him, because of his hair. On his forehead there’s one lock of hair and the rest of his hair is put back behind with a lot of hairspray. It looked so strange! But oh my, he’s so young in this movie when you compare it to the Zac Efron from these days! To be honest, I’ve never been a real fan of Zac Efron (okay, I loved him in High School Musical, but after that I never really watched him in another movie again). I have this idea that he’s too much of a sex-symbol lately, so to be honest… I can’t stand him. Sorry guys… I’m just not attracted to sixpacks and a lot of muscles. My sister totally is by the way and that’s so annoying! The moment I mention an actor or actress, she’s always immediately like: “he’s so handsom!” or “ugh, why could you like him? He’s ugly.”. Believe me, sometimes she makes me really pissed.

Okay, okay, back to the point. As a Marvel fan I must mention James Marsden (he plays Corny Collins) sing. Maybe he also sang in Enchanted, but I can’t remember (until last year I didn’t even know that he played the prince in Enchanted… I know, very bad…). Anyway, I always knew him as Scott of X-Men, but to see him sing and dance was marvelous.

So you guys know already that I expected an overrated comedy movie, but this turned out to be anything but true. I also didn’t expect this movie to be about such a serious subject. It was funny and really serious at the same time and that was something I really enjoyed watching. This movie is about the separation of black and white people and how society deals with it. The main character Tracy wants to be famous, but she also sees the black and the white people as equals. Beside the fact that she was also very cute, I loved her. She set an example for everyone.

So, the characters were amazing (I won’t mention them all, because there’re just too many, sorry), but the singing and dancing in this movie was also very good, because everything is in the style of the sixties. I don’t know why, but I’ve always loved the sixties. I’ve always loved the hair, the clothes and now also the dance-moves. It’s one of the reasons why I also love the movie The Help so much (the main reason is the subject of course, but the costumes are also very good!). Besides all the costumes and dance-movies, it was so great to see a lot of these famous people dance and sing. I really never expected that these people could actually sing and dance! Well, some could and some didn’t really… But that were the most funny parts.

I never expected Hairspray to be so good and so fun. Maybe there’re still some people around here who are just like me. They barely watched musical movies with their family and that’s why they missed out on such good movies, so to these people I will say: get your laptop, open Netflix and watch this movie.

Leave a Reply

