Hidden Figures (2016) review

MV5BMjQxOTkxODUyN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTU3NTM3OTE@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_.jpg“The story of a team of African-American women mathematicians who served a vital role in NASA during the early years of the US space program.” – IMDB

The moment I saw the trailer of this movie, I knew I had to see it. I’ve already seen Octavia Spencer in The Help and I was thrilled to see that she also had a big role in Hidden Figures. 

That black and white had to live separate is just awful. I know things have been awful, but it’s good that we don’t forget it. Movies like The Help and now also Hidden Figures don’t make us forget. Whenever it’s someone who stands up against the separation or whenever they just prove that they’re worthy the job… Oh men, it just makes my heart fill with joy. It’s the reason why I loved The Help and it’s also the reason why I now love Hidden Figures. 

Hidden Figures is based on a true story and it’s a movie about dreams. It’s about wanting to get the first man into space, but also about wanting to get the first black person to go to a white school to pursue your career. It’s a movie about showing who you are. Being a woman doesn’t mean you can’t do the work man usually do. Being black doesn’t mean your not worth the try. Hidden Figures is also a movie about acceptance. Accept that we’re all the same. Being different on the outside doesn’t mean we’re different on the inside. We can all be smart, kind and beautiful.

The three main characters portrayed their role absolutely amazing. There’s Taraji P. Henson as Katherine G. Johnson, the absolutely talented mathematician, who can do everything with numbers. She’s the first black woman working with a lot of white men. It’s absolutely terrible to see that she needs to drink different coffee or that she needs to use the colored bathroom about half a mile away. It really makes you realize that this situation was absolutely terrible. But it’s also great to see that there’re people who only judge the things someone does instead of how someone looks.

Of course there’s also Octavia Spencer as Dorothy Vaughan. I was mostly thrilled to see her play this role. Dorothy Vaughan makes you realize that you just need to try hard enough if you really want something. She’s black, but that doesn’t make her stop.

I wanted to tell you that I thought Janelle Monáe as Mary Jackson most inspired me, but the moment I typed that, I wasn’t really sure, because all these three girls inspire me so much. These three girls made the impossible possible and I’m just so proud of them. Anyway, Mary Jackson knows the differences between black and white very well. She wants to be an engineer and she would have already been one if she’s been white. But after a while she realizes that being black doesn’t need to stop her from being an engineer. So she applies for the job and at one point it almost seemed impossible that she would get the job, but after she went to court, she made it possible. She became the first black female at that school (I don’t remember which one it was…), but she also became the first black female to be an engineer at NASA.

And the moment you realize, after watching this movie, that it’s been based on a true story… It makes me even happier. These girls have done so much great things and they’re a real inspiration for me. Because like I said, they made the impossible possible, so if they can pursue their dreams in such a difficult situation, why can’t we pursue our dreams right now?

Leave a Reply

