A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) – Sarah J. Maas

ENTER AT YOU17927395R OWN RISK! THIS REVIEW CAN CONTAIN SPOILERS IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE FIRST BOOK! (sorry for the capslock!)

“Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.”
– Goodreads

Allright, I guess you all figured out that I absolutely hated the first book. It wasn’t really what I expected and I just hated the story. This book on the other hand, was way better. I’ve never really felt like this before, because I never really hated the first book and then absolutely loved the second book. It’s just too weird.

There’re so many reasons why this book is way better than the first, but there’s only one reason really standing out and that’s just the fact that so much more happened here. Some would maybe say that it was a bit chaotic, but I absolutely didn’t have that idea. Yes, they went from one place to another every single time, but for everything was a good reason.

I told you that I hated Tamlin, but after this book I became to hate him even more. Rhysand on the other hand became even more perfect than he already was. I totally get why Feyre chooses Rhysand over Tamlin. Feyre is a fae now and she’s powerful, but instead of being allowed to use her powers, she’s forced to stay in the house all day and to organise parties. Anyway, it was like that when she was with Tamlin. Rhysand lets Feyre make her own choices. If she wants to control her powers, fine, if she wants to stay in bed all day, fine, it’s her choice. He doesn’t force her. Rhysand sees Feyre as his equal and I love him so much for that.

Rhysand seemed like a cruel Dark Lord at the beginning, but when you get to know him better, he’s really sweet and really sensetive. Just like everyone else I’ve fallen in love with this boy.

There’s just only one thing I didn’t really get and that doesn’t have anything to do with the book. A few days ago I saw a post on Facebook and it said: “You can live in your favorite book, but you must marry the villain. Which book would you choose?” And many people said the series of A Court of Thorns and Roses and then they chose Rhysand as their villain, but why? I never really thought Rhysand was the villain. Not in this book and also not in the last book. Rhysand always had his reasons for everything and maybe he appeared as a villain, but he never was, right? No, actually I never really thought he appeared as a villain, certainly not after the fact that he saved Feyre from these creepy mans. This already made it very clear that he had a good heart, at least, I thought. Oh and you can find out in this book why he saved her from these people that night and the reason why is just a-ma-zing.

Anyway, back to the book, because I have one last thing to discuss with you guys and that’s the ending. I already heard that a lot of people were freaking out because of it, but at one point I thought I would absolutely hate the ending… until… Yeah, well, I can’t tell you. Right now, I love the ending and I totally love the fact that Maas was trying to fool us too, but the thing I do hate, is actually that we will probably have more Tamlin scenes in the next book. And right now I just can’t stand him.

This book was just perfect, except for the beginning actually. And that was mainly because there were so much scenes with Tamlin and for a moment I also hated Feyre, because she didn’t stand up for herself. But after she awhile, this book and everything in it was just perfect. The relation between Rhysand and Feyre was absolutely amazing and I loved the new characters that were introduced. And you know, I even started to like Nesta en Elain. Oh believe me, amazing things will happen with these two and I want to tell you, but I won’t… That would be a huge spoiler.

I’m not sure why I gave this book a chance, but I’m grateful I did. Everything I hated about the first book, is what I loved about this book. So much happened, the characters were great, the relations were great. I think I can keep talking and talking about this book forever, but I won’t, because unfortunately I have to go to school now. So I’ll wish you guys a great day and I’ll see you in my next review (I won’t know which book it’ll be, because I haven’t started another one yet. If you have any suggestions on which books I should read, please tell me! :)).

Leave a Reply

