The Upside Of Unrequited – Becky Albertalli

30653853Becky Albertalli became one of my favorite autors last year after I’ve read her book Simon Vs. The Homosapiens Agenda. For me, this book was a life-changer. To be honest, I didn’t know when this book, The Upside Of Unrequited would come out, but this Friday I decided to pay a visit to the local bookstore and that’s where I saw this beauty and I discovered this book just came out. Of course, my heart was weak and I just had to buy it.

I’ve always loved reading realistic books. In most books, the protagonist is a cute little girl and no way this girl is fat. So to be honest, it was a bit strange reading a book in which the protagonist is indeed fat. Not in a bad way, of course.

The Upside Of Unrequited is a book which you can easily read within a day. It’s not very difficult and not very big. I always like these big books, but so now and then I really want to read one of these books too.

It’s also a book with great characters. Characters who are funny, but also all very different. The main character is Molly. She is a seventeen year old anxious and fat girl. Her sister is totally the opposite of her and has a girlfriend (yes, she’s gay, just like their parents (they have two moms)). Anyway, Molly wants a boyfriend really bad, but she thinks that boys don’t want her because she’s fat.

And to be honest, this made me kind of angry. Which is great. I mean, I got angry, because this book really got to me and that means that the book was really good. Anyway, back to the point why this book made me really angry. A lot of guys don’t even look at a girls appearance. Of course a few of them do, but not all of them (the guys who do are just assholes (sorry)). So being fat doesn’t have to be a reason for not having a boyfriend.

I myself am not fat, but I also don’t have a boyfriend and besides, I’m almost 18 years old. At one point in the book, Molly even calls herself a late-bloomer, because she has a boyfriend at a very late age. And this made me laugh. Like I said, I’m almost 18 and I don’t have a boyfriend, but I know my mom met my father on her 21st and he was her first boyfriend. So what was she then? A late-late-late bloomer?

But age doesn’t matter, in my opinion. It’s important that you at least find someone to spend your life with and to be happy. Ant this book also tells you this. It doesn’t matter if you find someone on the age of 14 or at 19. It doesn’t matter if you get a relationship with a boy or with a girl. As long as you’re happy.

And this book made me at two particular moments very happy (these moments are kind of connected though). I’m not going to tell you why, because I think it’ll be a spoiler, but I think I can tell you that this moment was very fangirlish… (if that’s even a word)

Even though this book made me angry, this book also made me laugh and cry multiple times. No, it’s not really a dramatic book, I’m just the sentimental one here. I also didn’t cry because of some sad things that happened, but I cried because of the happy things and that’s even weirder, because that almost never happens… So I guess this book is really good or just I’m a… yeah, I’m not going to say that. I’m not going to insult myself.

So I guess I would recommend this book to you, but I also think that Simon is still better.

Simon made my heart melt, this book didn’t.

It will get really vague when I’ll try to explain the rest (believe me, I tried). So I guess you have to figure out for yourself. But I’m also curious for your opinion. Did you like Simon better of this book?

Anyway, I’m still a big fan of Becky Albertalli and I really hope there’ll be another book from her soon (even though I think we’ll have to wait for a while actually). I’m also very sorry for not being able to upload anything the past few weeks. I got sick, I had a difficult test week and to be honest, I hadn’t read a book for a few weeks. I didn’t even touch one besides my school books. But I also think you won’t get a update regularly the next few weeks or months, because my exams are coming up and if I pass I’ll go to a university next year, which means I’m busy this summer getting a room and moving to a different city. Anyway, I’ll do my best… Have a great easter by the way!

Leave a Reply

