I’ll Give You The Sun – Jandy Nelson

16109340I don’t know why exactly, but I bought this book about a year ago, and for some stupid reason, I hadn’t picked it up yet. I wanted to read this book, but I thought it would be a really tough book to read, so yeah… It took me awhile to pick it up. And last week I finally decided it was about time.

And how wrong I was about this book. Deep inside I knew I would love this book, but for some reason I couldn’t really believe this. Just like… Well, sometimes you’ve heard a lot about a book and you want to read it too, but you’re afraid you won’t like this book as much as the rest. So I think that’s the reason why I hadn’t started reading this book earlier…

Right now I’ve just finished this book about two minutes ago and oh God, it was so freaking good. There are certain parts in this book that were so amazing and right now, I want to read them over and over again.

I’ll Give You The Sun made me both happy and sad. Yes, really sad actually. Everything that happened to them, mostly the main characters: Jude and Noah, and what they did to each other, it was terrible, but in the end everything turns out to be okay of course and well, I don’t know, but I think I’m in love with this book.

I still can’t believe it that I read this book a year after I’ve bought it. I’m so, so, so stupid! So let this be a message for those who also struggle to read this book, believe me, you’ll absolutely love it.

About everything in this book was perfect. The characters, for instance, are the best. (funny thing: I just notice that this is the second book in a row that’s about twins and gay people… haha) Sometimes you read this kind of book and you have absolutely no idea why someone acts the way they do, well, in this book everything is crystal clear (do I use this expression in a good way?). They’re mainly hurt and that’s why they act the way they do.

The main characters in this book are Noah and Jude. Noah tells the part where they were younger and Jude tells the part where they were older. Only this I already love. It’s so perfectly put together.

I also really love the connections in this book, but for now that’s not something I can tell you, because there’ll be some huge spoilers. Some of these connections you don’t find out until the end of the book (and when I mean the end, I mean about the last two or three pages).

This book also makes you realize that family is super important. Family is sort of everything and mainly the bond between a brother and a sister (or a brother and a brother or a sister and a sister) is immensely important. It shows how siblings can be driven apart and well… this book makes me really grateful for everything I have.

The feeling this book gave me is just… No, I don’t think I can explain it. I think right now I have this thing people call a “bookhangover” (am I right?). I think, after I wrote this review, I need to take a few minutes for myself. So, I’m of course really curious about your opinion of this book. Did you feel the same way as I did? Or did you just absolutely hate it. Please, tell me you honest opinion.

Sorry, this review wasn’t very long. Maybe if I’ve waited longer until I started writing this review, I could’ve gotten more words on paper (online actually), but for some reasons I didn’t feel like I could do that. No, I felt like: “I have to write this immediately. I have to share with the world how this book made me feel, right now!”

But anyway, my next review will probably about the book Nimona by Noelle Stevenson. And no, it’s not a “normal” book. Nimona is a young adult graphic novel (according to Goodreads). This afternoon I read the first few pages and to my surprise, I already enjoyed it very much.

Leave a Reply

