Nimona – Noelle Stevenson

51niH6CC-pL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_In my last post (yesterday) I told you about the next book I was about to read: Nimona. I started this book yesterday evening and to my surprised, I already finished it this morning. Unfortunately I had school, and that’s why I’m writing this review now and not earlier.

I already told you Nimona is a young adult graphic novel. It isn’t like a normal book. This book has pictures and it’s yeah, well, just like a graphic novel actually. And this is probably the reason why I finished it so quickly. To be more clear, it’s written like this:

16249418._SX540_

Like you can already understand from this part, Nimona is extremely funny. This book is by the way about a villain called Lord Ballister Blackheart. For some reason he has this fan called Nimona and she wants to be his sidekick and like you can read above, she gets hired.

About a year ago I gave this book to a friend of mine. She wanted it so badly, so I decided to give her this on her birthday. I think she already finished it the next day and since that moment she’s tried to get me to read this book. But for some reason, just like I’ll Give You The Sun, I didn’t read it yet… So this week she wanted to borrow The Upside of Unrequited and that’s where she gave me Nimona, so I could finally read it.

I think I need to listen to my friends more often when they’re trying to recommend a book for me.

Because this book is great for a quick read. It’s easy to read, it’s funny and you don’t really have to think about it very much. For a change, you actually have to watch. It’s a bit weird, because you’re used to read a book and now you’re kind of “watching” a book. You can’t just skip a picture when there’s nothing written in it. You have to watch it, because if you don’t, you won’t understand the story anymore. And I had to watch really closely to some pictures sometimes, because in a few of them, there was a lot going on.

But don’t expect too much of this book. The characters are fun, but they’re not extremely well developed, for example. But still, that doesn’t actually matter very much, because this is just a brilliant book to read.

I think this book is great after you’ve just read a difficult or hard book or maybe a book that really got to you, because this book really takes your mind of of things actually and that’s pretty great. I also think you can read this book when you don’t know what else to read anymore, because you’ve probably finished this book in about two hours. I did I think, and I’m also not a quick reader, so maybe you can finish it even faster, I don’t know.

So please let me know about your opinion, because I’m very curious what fellow booklovers thought about this book. Also, I think I’m going to read Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe next. Have you already read it? And yes, what did you think of it?

 

Leave a Reply

