Unfiltered: No Shame, No Regrets, Just Me – Lily Collins

171311.jpgLily Collins, a well-known actress, model and now an author. I think many of us have watched her in The Mortal Instruments, Love, Rosie or Mirror Mirror. About a month ago she published her first book: Unfiltered: No Shame, No Regrets, Just Me, an honest and inspirational book about finding yourself and being true to yourself.

 

Before I start this review, I need to apologize to you. In my last post I told you that my next review would be about the book Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. But yesterday afternoon I suddenly realized that I, for once, wanted to read a different kind of book. And that’s why I choose Unfiltered. 

And after I read the first chapter, I already knew that I would love it and yeah, that’s why I stayed up until 12 o’clock to finish it (not my best move actually, because I know that tonight will be rough…). While I read this book I fell more and more in love with it and with Lily Collins personally.

This book is honest and true. Unfiltered tells you about Lily’s life, what’s she’s been through and how everything effected her life. She shows you that life in Hollywood can be just as normal as in your own home. There’s this certain image these actors have, but actually this is just a image created by themselves. It isn’t at all true that they don’t have to do a thing for their perfect body or that they love food. Yeah, they might love food, but they’re careful with what they eat!

I learned a lot from this book: from loving yourself to be careful with who you want to spend the rest of your life with.

For me, the most intriguing part was the chapter about her eating disorder. In my own life, I have personally struggled with this certain body image and I also tried to eat less. I really failed on this part, but now I’m happy I did. This chapter makes you realize how terrible it is to have an eating disorder. Yes, I already knew that it was terrible, but the moment you read something like this from someone who had actually experienced it herself, it gets to you more.

Right now my eyes hurt, even though it’s morning again, but I still want to sleep. I’ll try to get some more rest after I’ve finished this review, but I’m not sure if I’m allowed… Anyway, I had to get up immediately to write this review, because right now I am still impressed by this book. I think it’s a really good book to read. It opens your eyes and it really gets to you. Each and every chapter of this book is special and perfectly written. In the future, I really hope to read more from Lily Collins.

Leave a Reply

