Beauty and the Beast (2017) review

MV5BMTUwNjUxMTM4NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODExMDQzMTI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_When my sisters and I were younger, I was always Cinderella, my youngest sister was Snow White and the other one was Belle. Kind of ironic, because nowadays she hates to read and she really looks at the appearance of men. But even though I was always Cinderella, that didn’t mean I didn’t like Beauty and the Beast as a kid. No, to be honest, I loved this movie. And after I grew up, I realized that I became more and more like Belle. In my community, I’m this odd little girl who likes to read and dream of far away places.

So I was extremely excited when I figured out that a new movie of Beauty and the Beast was being made. But I got even more excited when I figured out that Emma Watson would portray Belle.

I literally freaked out.

I’ve always loved Emma Watson as Hermoine Granger, but I got even more respect from her after that speech for the HeForShe campaign. From that moment on, she became my role model.

So yes, Emma Watson as Belle, but she wasn’t the only one familiar face in this movie. No really, this cast is huge. There’s Luke Evans as Gaston, Josh Gad as LeFou (seriously, every time I saw him, I pictured Olaf…), Dan Stevens as the Beast, Ewan McGregor as Lumière, Kevin Kline as Maurice, Stanley Tucci as Maestro Cadenza, oh and let’s also not forget Emma Thompson as Mrs. Potts and Ian McKellen as Cogsworth. If this isn’t a huge cast…

I think we all know that Emma Watson was originally set to play Mia in La La Land, but eventually she decided to play Belle in Beauty in te Beast instead. She also didn’t want to play in both, because she wanted to focus more on this movie. She wanted to give this movie everything. Personally I think that’s very passionate and I also think that Emma Watson doesn’t regret this decision at all, even though she could’ve won an oscar. And I’m really grateful that she’s made this decision, because there couldn’t have been a better Belle. She played her more than amazing. I have absolutely no words to describe this.

Of course Emma Watson wasn’t the only one in the movie who played it magnificent. No, they were all great actually. From Luke Evans to Ian McKellen. But do you know what surprised me most about all these actors? They are all great singers! I mean, why? It’s so unfair. I can’t sing, I can’t act, I can’t dance… And what can they do? They can do it all of course.

But let’s go back to the movie, because if I would talk about things that are unfair in life, I can go on for days and days.

So, if I should describe this movie, I will probably say something like: nostalgic and magical. During the whole movie, there was a smile on my face and it made me remember of the old days, when I was still a child. At the end of the movie, my head was on my sisters shoulder and a huge, satisfying sigh left my mouth. At that moment, nothing would ruin my day anymore.

I heard some people complain that the new Beauty and the Beast was too much like the old movie, but for me, that’s the reason why I loved this movie so much. Every little memory of my childhood came back to me. If this movie wouldn’t have been so much like the old one, it wouldn’t have been so nostalgic, and like I said, that’s why it was so extremely good.

At the moment, a lot of Disney movies are being remade and I personally don’t really mind. Nowadays, we live in a world where we can create amazing things just with the computer, and I personally love that very much. These special-effects make the movie so much more amazing and so much more magical, it’s just amazing. Probably because of these technologies, the movies are being remade, I guess.

But these special-effects make this movie so amazing. But the special-effects aren’t the only reason why this movie is so magical, in case you wondered. No, the acting and the songs also played a huge part in this. And all this combined, the acting, the songs and the special effects, made this movie one of the most magical movies I’ve ever watched.

Yesterday evening I came home and I immediately wanted to see the movie again, but today this feeling was even stronger and I don’t know if I can wait another couple of months to watch it again…

You know, I realized this today… I will always remember Emma Watson as this little girl played Hermoine Granger, but other kids will probably remember Emma Watson as Belle now. But I don’t really mind. I’m just really grateful that I’ll always remember her as Hermoine.

Leave a Reply

